Agriculture and Business Management Economists


Jeffrey E. Tranel (Jeff), ABM Economist
Email: jeffrey.tranel@colostate.edu
Phone: (719) 545-1845
Personal web page: www.extension.colostate.edu/tranel/
Expertise/Professional Interests:
  • Legacy/succession/estate planning; income taxes, production economics (enterprise budgeting), feasibility analysis, risk management, organizational structures, and crop insurance.

Dennis A. Kaan, Golden Plains Area Director & Community Development Agent
Email: dennis.kaan@colostate.edu
Phone: (970) 345-2287
Expertise/Professional Interests:
  • Community development, leasing, farm and ranch management, risk management, production economics (enterprise budgeting), and ag energy efficiency.

R. Brent Young (Brent), ABM Economist
Email: brent.young@colostate.edu
Phone: (970) 522-7207
Expertise/Professional Interests:
  • Application of technology to agriculture, irrigation economics, production economics (enterprise budgeting), record keeping and analysis, market planning, crop insurance, and beginning farmers and ranchers.

Jenny Beiermann, ABM Economist
Email: Jenny.Beiermann@colostate.edu
Phone: (970) 245-9149
Expertise/Professional Interests:
  • Production economics (enterprise budgeting), farm business accounting management and whole farm planning.

Dr. Norman Dalsted (Norm), Professor and ABM Economist
Email: norman.dalsted@colostate.edu
Phone: (719) 545-1845
Expertise/Professional Interests:
  • Estate planning, production economics (enterprise budgeting), strategic financial planning, bankruptcy, crop insurance, and feasibility analysis.

Stephen R. Koontz (Steve), Professor and ABM Economist
Email: stephen.koontz@colostate.edu
Phone: (970) 491-7032
Expertise/Professional Interests:
  • Commercial commodity agricultural markets, agribusiness, risk management, experimental economics, alternative marketing methods used in livestock, and the economics of animal disease control and insurance.

small arrow Full Resource Index

Quick Links